Donations to Alzheimer’s Society

This Saturday, 27th April, is our Charity One Ball club heat at Moira, in aid of this year’s national croquet charity the Alzheimer’s Society as featured on p6 of the Feb 2019 Croquet Gazette.

Donations will be collected from players on the day, but contributions to this worthy charity would of course also be welcome from other club members even if you are not playing on Saturday.

Arthur, Mike or Martin can collect cash or cheque donations before Saturday please. If paying by cheque please make payable to Alzheimer’s Society, with a completed Gift Aid form if appropriate/possible (printed copies available in the shelter).

Many thanks!

Easter Eggstra GC Competition

Monday 22nd April Report by Eileen

The Easter Eggstra GC Competition took place on Easter Monday, with twelve members taking part.

After five rounds Tim was the winner with 25 points, Mick was second with 22 and Judith, Eileen and Mike were third with 16 points each.

Everyone received chocolate eggs.

Charity One-Ball Plus heat: Saturday 27th April

Ashby Croquet Club’s annual Charity One-Ball competition is on SATURDAY 27th April at Moira, with a 1.45pm start, and after the success of last year’s competition we are once again playing Mike O’Brian’s One-Ball Plus version. The One-Ball Plus rules,
which have been modified very slightly since last year, are on the One Ball Tournament page .  Arthur is running our competition on the day, which will be played on the two small marked courts that make up Lawn 2, with triple-banking (i.e. 3 games of 2 balls each) on each court if needed.

One Ball (Plus) Croquet is a simplified form of Association Croquet. The basic shots – which are essentially golf croquet shots and croquet take-off strokes – are fairly simple, but instructions and coaching can be provided before the day for first-timers who would like to play – just ask around.  Any specific queries regarding the rules – ask Mike!  Please make sure you familiarise yourself with the rules BEFORE the day, so that the event runs smoothly on the day.

As well as competing for the Gnome trophy (currently held by Arthur), this is also our heat of the national charity One-Ball croquet competition, which this year is in aid of The Alzheimer’s Society. Please wear something BLUE for the competition if possible, as this is the charity’s colour theme.

Entry fee is by charity donation (cash please, to allow us to claim Gift Aid), with a suggested amount of £5 or £10 per person, with all money going to the Alzheimer’s Society charity.  Charity donations will of course be welcomed from non-players too.  If we manage to raise £50 or more from our club heat, the winner is entitled to a free place in the Charity One Ball national final (played to the usual One-Ball rules rather than One Ball Plus) at Surbiton Croquet Club on Sunday 12th May.  (If the winner is unable or unwilling to attend the national final, the place can be claimed by a runner-up instead.)

Our club heat is limited to 12 players, with priority given to Ashby club members.  Entries by Tuesday 23rd April to guarantee a place; any remaining places will then be open to players from other clubs.  To enter, please email Arthur and/or Richard or sign the list that Mike has hopefully already placed on the notice-board.

Provisional format: Four rounds with a rolling one-hour time limit – i.e. start at 1.45pm, first round finishes at 2.45pm and so on, finishing by 6pm.

Ashby GC B-Level and C-Level tournaments: procedures for dealing with entries

GC B-Level, Saturday 17th August: Although our B-Level GC tournament is already over-subscribed (at the time of writing 15 entries for 12 places, all CA Premium members), we are still accepting entries until the allocation date of June 16th.  Just to clarify, the procedure at the allocation date for dealing with entries is (as per the Tournament Regulations and the procedures on p73 of the CA fixtures book):

  • Priority 1: Places are reserved for the Manager, the winner of last year’s tournament, and two Under 21 players (under 21 on the day of the tournament and either a CA Premium or Young Person Member).
  • Priority 2: Any player who is a Premium, Young Person or Overseas Member of the CA, or who is a member of an overseas association claiming reciprocal rights.
  • Priority 3: All others.

Within a priority band, players shall be selected in descending order of ranking by GC: CGS Grade at the allocation date.  Any players not selected will of course get a full refund of entry fees paid.

If necessary, this procedure will also apply to our C-Level GC tournament on Saturday 8th June, allocation date April 20th.

New GC Singles Internal League

Eileen and Jenny have devised a new format for our GC internal singles league, the aim being to attract more players to take part in the league, and also to encourage more games to happen.

You can play anyone else in the league as a 13-point level-play game, and you can play each player up to three times over the course of the season.

You can play up to 20 league games in total during the season, and you must play at least ten games to be considered in the final results.

The winner at the end of the season will be whoever has the highest average score (i.e. total points scored divided by number of games played).

A large colourful scoresheet will be available for recording results.

Winter Walk report

Sunday 3rd March

After an unseasonably warm end to February, the weather was back to normal for the start of March, with cooler and wetter conditions returning, but this did not deter the five of us who braved the occasional showers for a six-mile circular stroll from Conkers Waterside.  We started by taking the old railway trail to Donisthorpe, with views over the croquet grounds along the way, before continuing along lakeside paths to Oakthorpe and Willesley Wood, and then on to the café at Hicks Lodge for a refreshment stop, and finally back along the woodland path and canal to Conkers.