Coors Cup and Bass Shield

Coors Cup and Bass Shield

The Coors Cup and Bass Shield is an East Midlands Golf Croquet level-play tournament, sponsored by Molson Coors Brewing Company. It is an inter-club tournament organised by Ashby Croquet Club on behalf of the Federation of East Midlands Croquet Clubs (FEMCC), and is open to all East Midlands players, with a maximum of six teams of three competing.  We used to play it as a pre-season event on outdoor astroturf pitches at Shobnall Leisure Complex in Burton, but in recent years (2011 onwards) it has become a spring event on our lawns at Moira. 

The tournament consists of a number of rounds of singles level-play 13-point Golf Croquet games, usually played to a time limit of 35 minutes.  Each player plays a minimum of six games.

It comprises two competitions played concurrently:
Bass Shield: Awarded to the winning team of the tournament. Teams consist of three players.
Coors Cup: Awarded to the best individual player on the day.


COORS CUP Previous winners:
2005 Barrie March (Ashby)
2006 Mick Seagrave (Southwell)
2007 Christine Mounfield (Ashby)
2008 Arthur Rowe (Ashby)
2009 Tim King (Ashby)
2010 Arthur Rowe (Ashby)
2011 Ray Mounfield (Ashby)
2012 Christine Mounfield (Ashby)
2013 Mike O’Brian (Ashby)

2014 David Bell (Leicester)
2015 Mike O’Brian (Ashby)
2016 David Bell (Leicester)
2017 Chris Jackson (Long Eaton)
2018 Peter Reed (Sheffield U3A)

BASS SHIELD Previous winners:
2001 Nottingham (played as an AC astroturf team competition)
2002 Ashby (played as an AC astroturf team competition)
2003 Ashby
2004 Ashby
2005 Ashby
2006 Southwell
2007 Ashby
2008 Southwell
2009 Sapcote
2010 Ashby
2011 Ashby
2012 Ashby

2013 Leicester
2014 Leicester
2015 Leicester
2016 Leicester
2017 Ashby
2018 Sheffield U3A

2019: Now fully subscribed (19/02/19). The six teams competing are: Ashby, Bakewell, Darley Dale, Leicester, Long Eaton and Sheffield U3A.