The two usual Edgbaston AC tournaments will be held in 2024 as follows:

Saturday 8th/Sunday 9th June The Sally Nicholls Trophy B level

Saturday 17th/Sunday 18th August The Tompkinson Shield A level

See the Croquet England fixtures list for details and online entry.

The 2023 annual A class Tompkinson Shield took place on 19th/20th August.

Andrew Gregory reports: “Jack Good won the Tompkinson Shield at Edgbaston. A full complement of 14 chaps gathered for the Super-B (or Stars Barred) tournament at Edgbaston. At the end of Saturday 8 players had 50% or better, so a knock-out was decreed. The final had defending champion Clive Goode play the up-and-coming 17 year-old Jack Good. Good was too good for Goode. Jack also collected the gold award for his first triple peel. The other TP of the weekend was by Neil Adams.”

The competitors were Neil Adams, Martin Beacon, Gary Bennett, Ian Draper, Jack Good, Clive Goode, Andrew Gregory (our very able Manager), Charles Harding, Adrian Kirby, Gordon Mills, Mark Simmerson, Ian Slater, Nick Steiner and Jonathan Wolfe.

Previous winners of this event are as follows:

2002 Paul Swaffield

2003 Henry Fellows

2004 Dave Kibble

2005 Martin Granger-Brown

2006 Martin Granger-Brown

2007 Nigel Polhill

2008 Brian Storey

2009 James Hopgood

2010 Gabrielle Higgins

2011 Nigel Polhill

2012 Paul Swaffield

2013 Richard H. Smith

2014 Andrew Gregory

2015 Andrew Gregory

2016 David Foulser

2017 Cesar Miranda Reyes

2018 Cesar Miranda Reyes

2019 Nigel Polhill

2020 Jonathan Wolfe

2021 Andrew Willis

2022 Clive Goode

2023 Jack Good